A to Z Challenge: B is for Breakfast


Breakfast, the most important meal of the day, according to some. I’m not so sure. I do know that my body does feel better when I eat a breakfast. The trouble with me is that I usually only eat when I’m hungry. If I’m busy drinking coffee or tea, I forget about eating solid food until later in the day when my stomach starts to growl. Strawberry-yogurt-with-muesli-topping

Lately though, breakfast is becoming an important part of my day. I actually look forward to a couple of quick recipes I started making for my gal pal, sk, and I. Both are delicious, very little prep required and easy to make. One even makes a part of me feel a little naughty. . . and I like that.

This first recipe is a muesli sk received from her dietitian to help control her diabetes. Please note, I’m not claiming this recipe is for all diabetics.

Muesli (My modifications.)

1/2 Cup Large Flaked Oats

1/2 Cup Low Fat Milk (Unsweetened Soy Milk)

1/3 Cup Low Fat Greek Yogurt (0% Plain Greek Yogurt)

1/2 Cup Frozen Berries (Whatever frozen fruit is on sale, currently using strawberries and mango.)

1 Tablespoon Honey or Maple Syrup (Drizzle of Agave)

Layer ingredients in order listed, refrigerate over night, stir and enjoy the following morning. (Sk adds 1 Tablespoon of chia seeds but you can add nut/seeds of your choice.)

When I make this for myself, I prepare it in the morning and cut the recipe in half. Sk enjoys chunks of fruit in hers but I prefer to have a bit of fruit in each bite so I slice my fruit. I let it sit on the counter for about an hour. This allows me time to get my morning chores well under way, fruit is thawed and most of the liquid is absorbed.

I found this next recipe on Pinterest from Menu Musings of a Modern American Mom. This is the one that makes me feel a bit naughty. 🙂 Something that tastes this good, that includes chocolate AND peanut butter is rarely available to me as a breakfast item.

Funkey Monkey Morning Smoothies (My modifications.)

1 (8oz) container Very Vanilla Silk Soymilk (8 oz. unsweetened soy milk and a splash of vanilla extract)

1 large ripe banana (Frozen, cut into 1 – 2 inch pieces)

2 Tbsp peanut butter (Very generous 2 Tablespoons of light creamy peanut butter.)

1 1/2 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder (Roughly 1 Tablespoon)

3 Tbsp granulated sugar (A semi-generous squirt of Agave)

1 – 1 1/2 cups ice (No ice due to using frozen banana)

I throw all the ingredients into a blender at one time. Vrooooom! I let that do it’s thing for almost a minute to make sure there are no chunks of the frozen banana. Pour and enjoy! The author says this recipe is enough for two servings. Yeah, whatever, I drink the whole thing.

Now you know what we eat for breakfast on a fairly regular basis. Those times when I forget to make sk’s muesli the night before, she will pop in a slice of whole grain bread into the toaster and eat that with some almond butter or peanut butter. We try to eat more healthy than not but believe me, there are times when we splurge. Just last month for sk’s birthday, we shared a banana split. We ordered, we devoured, we enjoyed each bite and no, I did not feel naughty.

Peace.

Leave a Reply

