Liebster Award


liebster-awardThank you Reading Femme for nominating me for a Liebster blog award! It always feels good to be recognized by your fellow bloggers. Thank you again.

Here are the rules:

1. Thank and link the person who nominated you.
2.  Answer the questions given by the nominator.
3.  Nominate 10 other bloggers (or thereabouts).
4.  Create 10 new questions for the nominees to answer.
5.  Notify all nominees via social media / blog.

Here are the 10 Questions Reading Femme gave me:

  1. If you could go back and change one thing in your personal history, what would it be? Wow, I don’t know if I would because who I am today is a result of my personal history. However, if you could guarantee me that I would meet my gal pal, sk, I would stay at WVU and change my MA to Public History. 
  2. Imagine you could change one aspect of yourself and add something like fur or fins. What would you change? If I could change anything, it would be my DNA so I didn’t have MD, if that came with fur or fins, so be it. 
  3. Do you have any tattoos or piercings? Yes to both.
  4. Beach or mountains? Mountains with a beach down below.
  5. Are you a morning person or a night owl? Definitely not a morning person, more of a late evening owl. . . I’m getting old!
  6. What was your favorite toy as a child? Not a particular toy per say but anything outside. I climbed trees, played basketball, rode by bike, used my cap gun rifle to carry out a single person game of Banks and Robbers, took naps in the dog house while using our dog as a pillow. . . fun, fun, fun!
  7. What figure in history would you like to have dinner with and why? Just one? Walt Whitman? Maya Angelou? Julius Caesar? Harvey Milk? Joan of Arc? Vince Lombardi? I’m a historian, I can’t just pick one.
  8. Would you rather be invisible or fly? Sometimes I already feel invisible so I want to fly. . . not too high though. 🙂
  9. Left or right-handed? I am ambidextrous, so it depends on the activity. For example, I drive left-handed but eat with my right.
  10. What would be your dream job? A job that combines my favorite things: history, food, helping others, reading and animals. 

In no particular order, my 10-ish nominees, okay, I only named five. . .

1. Art by Rob Goldstein – I am a relatively new follower of Rob but already I can tell you he is courageous and manages to find beauty in life.

2. Dining with Lesbians – Again, another relative new follower of this blog but I find the author’s views fresh and the fact that she resides in a totally different part of the world than I is so interesting to me.

3. Notes from the U.K. – I can always count on this blog to provide me with a good chuckle. Maybe because I can identify with a lot of what the author has to say. She too is an American living in a foreign country.

4. Rambles and thoughts of a mature lesbian – Again, I can relate to this blogger. She is the caregiver of her grandmother and all that comes with it, the good and the bad. However, the author is equipped with a good sense of humor and her blog.

5. FärgaregårdsAnna – The artwork is vibrant and that is what keeps me coming back. Much of the blog is not in English but art needs no language for appreciation.

My 10 Questions for my nominees are:

1. If you could visit any part of the world, where would you go and why?

2. Who is the most influential person of your life?

3. What would you order for a last meal?

4. What’s your favorite childhood memory?

5. What was your first paying job and what did you learn from it?

6. If you are familiar with public transportation and you are lucky enough to hop on an almost empty bus, where do you sit and why?

7. Cat person, dog person, both or neither and why?

8. (Borrowed from James Lipton of “Inside the Actor’s Studio”) If heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the pearly gates?

9. What word or phrase do you use too often?

10. What is the title of the last book, a real hand-hand book, you read?

 

Thank you, one last time, Reading Femme! And a big thank you to those bloggers who continue the Liebster Award path

Peace.

7 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. I’m flattered, but I’ve declared Notes an awards-free zone. Something about them–maybe the idea that if I once let myself think they matter to me I’ll wonder why I don’t have them all, in multiples–just doesn’t sit well with me. But I like the God question, so I’ll answer it: What I’d like to hear him or her say when I get there is, “Your father and uncle are just over there, still trying to figure out how this is possible.”

    Thanks for the nomination, and I’m sorry to be awkward.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. No worries! There was a time when I had similar feelings towards these awards. Then I changed my mindset towards them. I know see them as an opportunity to ‘advertise’ other blogs. That’s why I give a little blurb about the blog I’m nominating. Just another way we as a blogging community help to pay it forward for other bloggers. No need to apologize, I understand how you feel. Cheers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

