Non-traditional Thanksgiving


The gal pal, sk, and I decided to buck tradition this past weekend when we celebrated Thanksgiving Day here in Canada. We always make the food for the festivities whether we hold the event in our house or not. On Sunday, we served our guests spanish style tapas plus sk made aIMG_6583 Filipino/spanish paella. We kept the dinner casual, used our everyday plates and we all enjoyed a relaxing afternoon of good food, wine and conversation.

This was our menu:

Fig & Olive Tapenade

Pipirrana

Espinacas con Garbanzos

Basque Salad

Chorizo with Sun-Dried Tomato & Cider

Paella

 

Saturday, I spent all day in the kitchen doing my best impersonation of a quality chef. A few of our invitees were unable to come at the last-minute, which was okay with us, we didn’t take it personally. Our door is open to all and anyone who wants a good meal on our day of Thanks. But because of this, I decided we didn’t need two other dishes I planned on making: Steamed clams and Grilled shrimp. One of our guest brought BBQ spanish turkey, another came with homemade ukrainian pastries and slices of cheesecake materialized from somewhere.

sk and I enjoy our dinner parties, I hope our guests do as well. We are already planning our next one.

Cheers.

 

15 thoughts on “Non-traditional Thanksgiving

  1. I have no idea what any of that food is, but the picture sure looks delicious!! , on a side note, you truly inspire me to try new things now ….including tofu! (which I will concede…is not bad when prepared and cooked right)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s great! Just follow your taste buds and you can’t go wrong. Also, on a side note, did your son win that throwing contest? You can’t just dangle things like that in front of your readers and not let us know the outcome. Thought of that while watching TSN and saw the outcome of the Roughriders game. . . ouch. Peace.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Holy moly, paella! YUM! In Florida, a little suburb of Tampa exists known as Ybor City – and it’s mostly Cubans and their influenced food – YUM! I wasn’t raised on it but I surely have enjoyed it as an adult and every time I go home, I stock up on as much as I possibly can. And if you love chorizo, you should try it’s Portuguese counterpart, linguica. Spicy without the ‘burn’ of chorizo for lack of a better phrase. The three things in the middle I have already copied down to figure out what they are but oh my goodness, I’m sure they are wonderful since you had me at the other three. πŸ˜€ Why oh why don’t I live in Canada? Oh that’s right, I’m freezing to death here already! Well, color me slightly jealous and feast on, my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hey, mothlit! Where there is a good memory, food is almost always included. . . at least in mine. πŸ˜‰ Good to ‘see’ you again. Hope all is well in your neck of the woods. Peace.

    Like

  5. The chorizo I use is called “Portuguese Chorizo.” It’s handmade by our butcher here in town from pigs in Quebec, farm raised, hormone free. Sk has already said it’s the best chorizo she’s tasted; mexican, chinese, filipino. I’ll take her word for it since I’m not much of a meat person. We love all kinds of food. Our favorite cookbook is The Around the World Cookbook. Every so often, we pick a country and then prepare recipes for a week or two.
    Thanks again for reading and commenting! Cheers.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I always thought the Canadian date made more sense than the American date because right now the farmer’s markets still have lots of fresh food, but by the end of November it is turnips, rutabaga, and potatoes (which I love to cook and mash but still it is nice to get a good mess of greens in). And of course, lots of apples.
    I cook a traditional Thanksgiving (Turkey) with a lot of vegetarian side dishes and an apple pie.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. No, they aren’t my recipes, I got them from whomever posted them on allrecipes.com. πŸ˜‰ Basque is a bunch of vegetables with a red wine vinaigrette / olive oil dressing. Pirirrana is a potato salad with similar vegetables but also with potatoes (obviously) tuna, olives, eggs and I think just a hint of olive oil. Oh, I added kalamata olives to the Basque. . . that was my one addition to the dish. When I make a recipe for the first time I like to make it exactly as written then I’ll make notes and change to fit our taste buds. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I didn’t exactly mean ‘your’ recipes, just your recipes. Never mind. πŸ˜› I got it. πŸ™‚ I’m trying to talk the other half into this meal for Christmas dinner since we’ve been on a “trying different ethnic foods” spree but she, to quote, said “But what if we don’t like it and then it will taint Christmas?” What? I just said okay, and will fix them one at a time before then, to try them on my own. Since two of her three children are vegetarian and all are of Hispanic descent (? is that the right word?), I thought she would jump on this but you know, great ideas and all that jazz…:P Of course, A) they’re opposed to change and B) opposed to anything G suggests. I must plot carefully and see where I can plant this seed so that it’s their idea. πŸ™‚ *taps noggin* Don’t count this old gal out yet.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. lol, just start each meal with an “appetizer.” πŸ˜‰ I’m sure you, of all people, will come up with something! Just an FYI, the other recipes, also from allrecipes.com, that I didn’t make due to the change in number of people attending are: Grilled Marinated Shrimp, Valencian Savory Empanadas (I use prosciutto instead of ham) and Portuguese Steamed Clams (I used mussels). These are all delicious as well. Cheers.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I’m starting to really like the Thanksgiving in Oct. rather than Nov. Not only do you have better food selection but the weather is usually nicer. Your meal sounds like our traditional dinner, which is always delicious, but it was a nice change to do something different. . . although I did miss having pie. πŸ˜‰ Cheers.

    Like

  11. Oh yeah, for the steamed portuguese mussels, I used a can of non-alcoholic beer (gasp! I know) instead of the wine. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

