A Camping We Will Go


This summer is turning into The Summer of Camping. Yeah, I can’t believe it myself. My gal pal, sk, is actually coming up with ideas for activities we can both do while we are out enjoying Mother Nature. Her latest idea: boating. To be more precise, buying an inflatable beach boat on sale just so we can get an idea if we like boating or not.

Did I mention I don’t know how to swim. . . or that I failed swimming classes as a child? What do you expect from someone who grew up in the middle of corn fields? When sk first ran the idea of paddling a boat on open water past me, my immediate response was a clear “no.” Then, I started thinking; no time like the present to get over my uncomfortableness (I refuse to use the word phobia.) with water and besides this is something I’ve secretly wanted to do for as long as I can remember.

So, that’s how we found ourselves in Canadian Tire, inquiring about an inflatable boat and paddles. I left sk to ponder those things while I took the very patient and knowledgeable employee aside to discuss the item I mostly needed, a life jacket. As she took me over to that section of the store, we passed a whole line of nothing but jackets all hanging there in bright colors.

Store employee: What kind of life jacket are you interested in today?

Me: What kind? The kind that’s gonna keep me alive.

Male customer overhearing conversation: Hahaha, snort snort

All joking aside, we survived our outing and are looking forward to boating again in the very near future. Sk is already to try kayaking. I’m not sure about that, our little boat is pretty comfortable and not likely to overturn, which is a big bonus in my book.

Below are some pictures of our trip, all approved by sk. Cheers.

Our huge camp site

Our beach boatTLBTC Floating and Relaxing TLBTC Floating and Relaxing

Sk starting the fire

Sk starting the fire

6 thoughts on “A Camping We Will Go

  1. That is awesome that you are able to get away for some outdoors fun, major Kudos to you for setting your fears aside and enjoying the boat and water, they make kayaks now that are pretty stable, you can get wide bottomed kayaks that have a molded seat so you’re not actually sitting in it, more like on it.
    Canoes are a good way to go if you just can’t get over the “iffy” factor of a kayak, I have a 16 foot fiber glass Coleman canoe, it’s fairly wide at the center and pretty stable, I put a hyper 160 pound rottie/shepard cross and a squirrelly 13 yr old boy in it and didn’t flip it, so they are pretty safe.

    Like

  2. I also don’t swim and have deserved going out on the open water bc of that. But have made the resolve to do it next year.

    Like

  3. Whoa, slow down. . . I think I need some more time in our little boat before I move on to a kayak. We’re still learning how to paddle. 😉
    We were leery about taking a small cooler with us because the weight limit was a 441 pounds. I’m barely 115 and I can’t mention sk’s because ladies never give out that info right? Needless to say, we didn’t come any where near the 441 pounds but we still didn’t want to push our luck. Having a huge hyper dog in our boat would’ve been nerve wracking. Thanks for the confidence boost, reading and commenting. Hope all is well in your neck of the woods. Take care. Cheers.

    Like

  4. Hopefully, you will find it as freeing and I did. Thank you for reading and taking the time to comment. Cheers.

    Like

  5. I still haven’t tried kayaking. . . that might be on our bucket list for next summer. 🙂 Cheers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

