Perception


I do not know or pretend to know what people think when they see me out and about. I do not care. I don’t say that to be mean, it’s just the way I am. I’m not such a hard ass that I’m rude to people. Oh, no. I make eye contact and nod or say hello to the strangers I meet on the sidewalk. I’ll assist someone with a door or package if I think they need help. I make small talk with people in waiting rooms and elsewhere. Sk is amazed how I can talk about nothing substantial with total strangers. I shrug it off as being polite.perception

I do all those things and more. . .  but only when I’m aware of others around me. In the past, my friends confessed that when they first met me they thought I was a snob. As I get older though, they assume I’m nonchalant or I embody great self-confidence. What most people do not realize is that I’m busy in my own little world. I’m thinking of the errands I’m running that day; making sure I got everything I needed from the last shop, did I purchase all the items on the grocery list, what time I need to get to the library before it closes or reminding myself to buy some fresh flowers.

Envision me standing in the dairy section of the grocery store looking at the selection of eggs before me. People will notice first thing that I’m vertically challenged. They also assume, incorrectly, that I’m young. Some may wonder which restroom I use. Sk jokingly says I’m the one that gives us away as a couple when we are together so let’s just say for argument sake that most viewers could figure out I’m a card-carrying member of the lesbian club. They would also see me going about my business with a sense of know-how. What they do not or can not see is me standing there wondering what the hell is the difference between Free Run, Free Range, Furnished Cage Hens and Organic eggs and which ones are the healthiest.

Leave a Reply

