Little Butch Shopping Woes


Boys Section of Store

Boys Section of Store

It’s hard to be butch, yes, even a soft butch while shopping for yourself in the boys children section of a clothing store. The parents aren’t the ones giving me ‘the eye’, it’s the little boys.  . . it’s like they know. They know the shirt I have in my hand is for me and not one of their peers. It’s troubling but not so much so that this prevents me from buying the clothes. Come on, the fit is so good that if I didn’t know any better I would think the shirts were made for me. So, stop giving me the stink eye.

11 thoughts on “Little Butch Shopping Woes

  1. Yep, I am. I can buy pants in the men’s section, but not shirts because they are way too long on me. Thank you again for reading a post and taking the time to comment! Cheers!

    Like

  2. For me the problem is always which dressing room to use, unless it is a store that has everyone in one set of dressing rooms. I don’t know if I’d have the strength to use a boy’s dressing room although I’ve used men’s. In general I’ve had more condescension from saleswomen than from customers, so much for service.

    Like

  3. I abhor dressing rooms and I avoid them whenever possible. My partner has no qualms about spending a half hour trying on different outfits at a store then bring it home and come to the conclusion that it’s just not right for her. She looks at taking back the clothes as another shopping trip so she doesn’t mind exchanging or returning clothes for me as well. 🙂 The saleswomen can be quite rude. I treat them with as much respect as they show me but I do not let their nastiness deter me from getting the information or assistance I need/want. Hopefully, you don’t let these issues keep you from buying the items you want. Thank you for stopping by, reading and commenting! Cheers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

