Books 2 and 3, Come Join the Party


I finally received notification from my local library. They had not one but two of my books I requested. Don’t you enjoy that feeling? It’s like a Christmas or birthday present. You know what it is but not exactly. Both books are from my reading project; yes, I assigned myself work. I’m weird that way. I like setting goals and achieving them.

Jester reading a book

This is how I feel sometimes reading these books.

So I have in my possession: Orlando by V. Woolf and The Immoralist by A. Gide. I might lose some of my lesbian points by admitting that I’ve never read anything by Virginia Woolf, it’s a risk I’m willing to take. This particular edition is quite busy. By that I mean, before the actual story begins I have a Preface, a Chronology and an Introduction to entertain myself. In the Preface alone, I feel like I’ve been on a rollercoaster when you consider her life’s story. No one prepared me for the end; her suicide. Did you know V. Woolf killed herself? I had no idea. But I still have the whole story left to read. How can I be more shocked or disappointed than what I already learned in the Preface?

Andre Gide, anyone? Anyone? (Bueller? Bueller?) Seriously, who is this guy? My ignorance is really showing. On the bright side, the book is very thin. I’m thinking it may be a two seated read or one long sitting. I swear, I’m not trying to make light of this work. It’s a “Penguin Classics” for crying out loud. Okay, that was poking fun.

Feel free to volunteer your insights or join me in reading both or either or these books. Please, just don’t tell me the endings.

2 thoughts on “Books 2 and 3, Come Join the Party

  1. Well, aren’t you miss smartypants. 🙂 Just teasing. I had heard of her name but that was it. We’ll see how it goes. . .

    Like

Leave a Reply

