The Reading List


A couple of weeks ago, I wrote a post concerning my new reading project. More specifically,  I was trying to deicide on which reading list I would tackle and the parameters for accomplishing that goal. I asked for suggestions and received some good advice.

The Publishing Triangle courtesy of http://www.publishingtriangle.org

After much thinking and researching, I selected the 100 Best Lesbian and Gay Novels (Selected by The Publishing Triangle.) Why? Why not. My bookshelves are overflowing with non-fiction and some classic novels. Sk’s collection also happens to be mainly non-fiction as well. Not too many novels floating around our place. Also, not too many LGBT books.

This reality stumped me a bit. I guess once I figured out I was a lesbian, that was it, it just was. I didn’t feel the need to research the topic. This is coming from someone who researches anything of significance. My first degree was in history for crying out loud, research was my life in college. Luckily sk is also big into researching, we were meant to be together. In the past 9+ years together, we’ve researched: computers, PDAs, condominiums, phones, paint, how to decorate small spaces, moving vans, Seattle, Canada, cars, immigration, tattoos, car insurance, televisions, washers, dryers, fish, EMDR training, cameras, furniture, Permanent Residency, nursing homes, feline illnesses and car importing to name a few. We hardly ever ‘fly by the seat of our pants’ so to speak. We are both logical thinkers who gather information before making decisions or purchases. Damn it, we even watched a 5-disc series on the history of Canada so we would know more about our new country we call home. (In case you’re wondering, Canada’s history is very similar to the USA except everything happened later. Instead of fighting for independence in 1776 like those living in the 13 colonies, representatives from provinces that came to be known as Canada just asked the Queen for their independence in 1867. It took them a lot longer but without the bloodshed.)

The point is, for me not to have read up on homosexuality once I realized I was a lesbian is dumbfounding to me now. Maybe I was just so excited I finally figured out why I was different from all my female friends. I finally had an answer so my plight was finished? I don’t know. That was many years and too many beers ago.

Some wise readers suggested that I not take on such a large task like 100 books. They pointed out that there will be books I find boring and that in itself will be my downfall to success. I’m not so sure about that. Oh, it could happen. . . maybe. I could be wrong; it’s happened once or twice. In college though and especially graduate school, I had to read two to three books a week, not of my own choice either. I wrote numerous book reviews. . . some without even reading the book. Granted that was also several years ago and maybe I don’t have the patience to continue with something I have no interest in. I can see it happening if I have a string of bad books.

Cover of "Giovanni's Room"

My first selection is Giovanni’s Room by James Baldwin. Shhh, don’t ruin it for me. I need to first finish my current book, Red Princess by Sofka Zinovieff, and yes, it’s non-fiction. If you would like to join me, come on in, there’s plenty of room in the pool. If you would like to comment on the books, please do, just don’t tell me the endings. Until next time, happy reading.

Peace

4 thoughts on “The Reading List

  1. Interesting list. After I realized I like women I went into a bit of research mode myself which led me to read The Well of Loneliness. But there are only two other books on the list that I read so I have to take a look at them in the future. Good luck with your reading choices.
    And maybe, once you made it through Moby Dick you can let me know why it was on the list. I only made it through half of it before I realized that life is too short for me reading said book 🙂

    Like

  2. There has to be a gay connection somewhere concerning Moby Dick, hopefully I’ll be able to tell you. But I’m not going to lose any sleep over it, the book is #64 on the list so it will take me a while to get there. Thank you, I think I need all the luck I can get for this project. 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Books 2 and 3, Come Join the Party « The Little Butch That Could

  4. Pingback: Book Review | ‘Giovanni’s Room’ by James Baldwin « Wordly Obsessions

Leave a Reply

