On The Couch Tonight


Sick

Sick (Photo credit: SodanieChea)

I can handle a lot of things when it comes to sickness. I grew up on a farm and now work with elderly people so I’ve seen many disgusting things. I’ve pulled dead sheep while they were twitching and making noises from the gas build up inside. (Eww, I know but it happens.) I can eat while watching a video of an autopsy or while the discussion at the lunch table is diarrhea.

No problem, but what I absolutely can not handle is vomit, human vomit. Somehow I’ve built up a bit of a tolerance for pet puke although sometimes I do have to let it sit for a bit just long enough so it’s cooled off a little. People vomit is another story.  I think my low threshold developed during my school years. The worst is that sandy powder stuff that they poured over the puke in a school hallway or on the school bus. And it didn’t matter which kid or what they ate or drank, it always smelled the same. If I could just keep from gagging, I would handle it a lot better but let’s face it, I’m not getting any younger so I doubt it’s something I out grow or learn to deal with.

If it’s a cold, any amount of blood, minor operation or any illness that does not include aiming into a bucket or toilet bowl, I’m your gal. I’ve got the items needed to help: soft kleenex, pepto bismol, lozenges, cough syrup, ace bandages, vapo rub, hot water bottle, aspirin, thermometer, ice packs and lots of different creams and other stuff. I will also run to the pharmacy, take you to the doctor or ER, I will make homemade chicken noodle soup and I will go to the grocery store for supplies. I will make you tea, prop you up and once you feel better, make sure you have things to entertain yourself: the remote, magazines, books or your favorite DVD.

However if you have the flu or are in the throwing up stage of a stomach virus, I will get you a bucket and a towel. I will then leave you to yourself. Yes, I know, I do get sick once in a while but I also take care of myself, even if I’m vomiting. The last time I got really sick it was in the wee hours of the morning and also the beginning of my birthday. I got up at 2:23 am and proceeded to vomit three times, all in the toilet, no mess thank you. I crawled back to bed, sk woke up and I told her what had happened. Her response to all that? Her exact words were, “happy birthday, honey.” She then turned away from me and went back to sleep. So don’t think this is a one-way street here.

Therefore, tonight I will be sleeping on the couch, away from the smell and noise. I’ll need my sleep for I’ll be checking in for my sick duty tomorrow. I’ve tried to recruit the kitties, but even they don’t want to go near the bucket.

2 thoughts on “On The Couch Tonight

  1. Bummer for both of you….but sadly, tis the season…and only just the beginning of it. Now aren’t you just so glad that I dropped that little comment by? Hope SK feels better soon and you stay healthy….all the best…:)

    Like

  2. False alarm, must of been something she ate. It passed quickly and did not affect me at all. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, dropping a line and your well wishes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

