Today’s Ramblings


English: pink ribbon

English: pink ribbon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I don’t really have a topic for today’s post. That doesn’t mean I don’t have ideas rattling around in my noggin’. Even though it’s small, my head is chock full.

Did anyone know that Wednesday, October  17th, was National Breast Reconstruction Awareness Day here in Canada. Now, I’ve never been in charge of a campaign of any sort and I certainly don’t want to rain on anyone’s parade but with October being Breast Cancer Awareness Month I would think that getting the word out about this day would be a bit easier and more successful than what it turned out to be. I mean how many campaigns have the acronym BRA Day? That would certainly get my attention.

I don’t mean to sound as if I’m making light of breast cancer. I’m not. Luckily, cancer in general is not a major player in my family’s medical history. Don’t be too envious, we have our own set of medical concerns and disabilities, it’s just that cancer is not one of them. Even though I do not have first hand experience, I know several people affected my this disease.

With that said, I also have a twisted sense of humor and can find something humorous in almost any situation. A friend of ours, for example, is a breast cancer survivor and I find it hilarious that she buys her prosthetics at Nordstrom’s.  Now I’ve been to Nordstrom’s a few times and I can honestly say I’ve never seen prosthetic breast there. Maybe I was looking in the wrong section.

Right now I’m thinkin’ I didn’t eat enough for dinner. Sk and I went out for sushi. I ate a salmon mango roll, vegetable tempura and seaweed salad. I also had a few bites of sk’s yaki seafood noodles, not a lot because I kept getting pieces of squid, which I normally don’t mind but it was a bit overcooked, a little rubbery for my taste. I should have asked for another seaweed salad.

Sk and I are planning on watching a movie sometime over the weekend. We are deciding between Looper or Argo, any suggestions?

I’m so glad tomorrow is Friday. I really enjoy my work but come Friday, I need a little break. Our residents are quite needy but we also tend to spoil them. Our facility is small and so we get to know them individually and it feels like a big family but with any large family there are those who get along and those who don’t. There are squabbles and there are those who just do not like each other, period. Some afternoons when it’s only me and our cook, I feel like I would have better luck babysitting toddlers. And when I start to think like that, I know it’s time for a break.

I still keep thinking of my post from yesterday, ‘Social Justice,’ concerning Rev. Greg Dell. I can’t explain what is going on but yesterday I thought of him for the first time in a few years and now I can’t stop thinking about him. I find myself mentally running through the ways my life is better for knowing him and how I continue to learn from him even though I haven’t seen the man since 2007. He made such a difference in my life. I am forever in his debt for validating what I knew was true in my heart but had never heard anyone confirm it.

I was annoyed with Canadian television again. Tonight was Thursday Night Football.  Seven sport channels are included in our one step above the Basic cable package. Of those 7 sport channels, 0 showed the game. However, If I cared to watch the Cardinals duke it out with the Giants, I had five channels to pick from. This also happens to me on Sundays. Seven sport channels, five of them are showing a game. . .the same game and it’s aways the Buffalo Bills?!?!? Really?

Okay, I’m done rambling. Have a great Friday, peace.

Leave a Reply

